African Golden Cat Distribution Map
African Golden Cat Distribution Map
Reproduced with permission from the book Cats of Africa

The African Golden Cat occurs in the tropical forests of equatorial Africa from Senegal, Sierra Leone and Liberia in the west, through the Central African Republic and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to a minimal distribution in Uganda and Kenya in the east.


African Golden Cat Subspecies

The latest taxonomic revision proposes the same two subspecies that have been recognized in the past, although further research is required:

Caracal aurata aurata - East and Central Africa (minimal spotting on coat)

Caracal aurata celidogaster - West Africa (distinct spotting on coat)

Reference: Kitchener et al. 2017. A revised taxonomy of the Felidae. The final report of the Cat Classification Task Force of the IUCN / SSC Cat Specialist Group.


African Golden Cat Distribution in Africa

African Golden Cats occur in 14 African countries mainly across west and central Africa:

North Africa: absent

West Africa: Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone *

Central Africa: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, DR Congo, Gabon

East Africa: Kenya (possible), Uganda

Southern Africa: absent

Reference: Bahaa-el-din, L., Mills, D., Hunter, L. & Henschel, P. 2015. Caracal aurata. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2015: e.T18306A50663128. Downloaded on 28 June 2017.
*The country links will take you to an adventure travel website that includes visits to national parks and rural areas in several of their tours. Many of the images show the typical natural environment and wildlife habitat of that country.
Africa Political Map by Nations Online Project
Africa Political Map by Nations Online Project

African Golden Cat Distribution Map

Click to view an interactive current map of the African Golden Cat's range by the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species:

IUCN African Golden Cat Distribution Map

Select the - icon to minimise any windows
Select [Change BaseMap] and choose National Geographic to show political boundaries
Select + and - to zoom in and out of the map
Click / Tap and Hold to pan the map